Skip to content

Addressing New Students

15 August 2009

: Omar Moore (Vice President)

Welcome Freshman, Transfer, and Returning Students:

My name is Omar Moore, and I would like to personally welcome you to Dallas Christian College. I am looking forward to sharing this coming year with you.

I am the Vice President of the Student Government, and my hope is to see you become more integrated into this community with what Student Government has to offer. We have many events, programs, and opportunities in the works for you this year.

As a student at DCC, you will find many means to partner with or join Student Government to work with us in improving life here. Some of you might think you are not able to lead in an organization such as the Student Government. However, I like to think you can. If you have an idea, or simply a concern or frustration, with how this College operates could run smoother or how we could improve, then please, speak with your Representative or come to the Student Government directly.

I was not any different than you last year. I was a transfer student from Oklahoma and did not know hardly anybody. I knew I wanted to make a difference where I was but did not really know how. Well, I began talking to people around school to find opportunities the school had, and I was pointed to a few different directions. Throughout the year, I participated in many of those different opportunities, but when I worked with Student Government, I was able to see my action having a larger effect. Because of this, I decide to run for Vice President of Student Government. I felt I could really make a difference this way.

I wanted to make a difference at the College and the lives of the people around me. I don’t think of myself as a leader, but I have thought of myself as a tool for God to use as a blessing.

This year is an exciting year for the Student Government. With having more responsibilities, we are prepared to be taught us valuable lessons for the future. Student Government will be a stepping stone for some to get our nose out there in the world, and for others, it will be a great opportunity to work for God and be a blessing. Once again, I would like to say thanks for coming to DCC, and I look forward to working with all of you in some shape or form.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

